John Martin Trail
This is in two sections, an easier North route of 2.5 miles and moderately
strenuous South of 11 miles. This very popular walk covers the areas which
influenced Victorian artist John Martin, born in the village, who became
the ‘… most popular artist of his day’.
There are regular waymarks and six information panels en route. A free pamphlet with maps is available from Claire’s Newsagents and 'The Bridge' library, Church Street, T.I.C.s or download in PDF format (1.1Mb) by following this link.
Following extensive winter 2015/26 damage to trees and landslides in the Allen Banks area, please follow the National Trust's new safe route diversions.
National Park Centre Once Brewed
Currently under redevelopment as 'The Sill Project' opening in 2017
Location: North of Bardon Mill, B6318.
Website: Northumberland National Park
Sill Information: Discovery Centre
This is a wonderful children’s play zone and picnic park. There
is a fenced play equipment area for toddlers, an assault course for
the older ones and a football pitch. Supervising parents can use the
seating arrangements for their picnic.
Opening Hours: All year, daylight hours.
Location: South of the First School, Langley Road, Haydon Bridge.
Access: For wheelchairs from school car parking via ramp.
The poet Philip Larkin spent many holidays in Haydon Bridge in the flat, 1A Ratcliffe Road, owned by his girl friend Monica Jones. According to Andrew Motion’s biography, they ‘lazed, drank, read, pottered around the village and amused themselves with private games. The place always cheered them both up’. ’As always, the place worked its spell’, wrote Larkin.
A Larkin/Jones Blue Plaque
was unveiled at 1A Ratcliffe Road on Tuesday 26th August 2014
For more on this and the couple in Haydon Bridge, see Dennis Telford's book 'Dearest Bun ...'
Monica Jones' Books
Helen Billham of Hexham has very kindly donated two rare privately published books by Michael Barrington, originally from the collection of Miss Monica Jones, to 'The Bridge' library in Church Street. They are available there from the archive for research on request.
Bardon Mill Pottery
The Errington Reay and Co. Pottery was established in 1878. Today the pottery produces a range of ornamental pots in salted glazed stoneware.
Come and visit the Bardon Mill Factory Shop &
Opening Hours: Mon - Fri 9.00 - 17.00, Sat & Sun 10.00 - 16.00.
(Winter: 10am - 4pm)
Location: Tyneside pottery Works, Bardon Mill (off A69).
Telephone: 01434 344245.
Access: For accompanied wheelchairs.
Website: Errington Reay & Co. Ltd
Haydon Spa Well
This is a sulphurous spa well first developed in 1863 with a further
improvement in 1897 to commemorate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee.
Following a collapse of the bank side in 2001, the access path has now
been reconstructed. It can be reached by a very pleasant riverside walk
strolling east along the south side of the river from the Anchor Hotel.
Watch out for kingfishers here. Alternatively, there is limited parking
on the A69 above the spa.
Opening Hours: All year.
Location: Approximately one mile east of the Anchor Hotel on the riverbank.
Access: No access for wheelchairs.
Haydon Old Church
The old Saint Cuthbert’s Chapel is located half a mile east of
Tofts Farm to the north of the village. The original structure is thought
to date from 1190.
The font is a Roman altar, possibly taken from the nearby Roman Wall.
The approach is through an arch of yew trees. The northern loop of the ‘John Martin Trail’ passes the church yard.
Opening Hours: Daylight hours. A key for access is available from Claire’s newsagents in Church Street.
Location: Tofts to Haydon East farm road.
Admission: Please leave a donation towards upkeep.
Access: Limited access for wheelchairs. Please park any vehicles thoughtfully.
Langley Dam is a 14 acre lake set in beautiful countryside which lies
approximately 3 miles south of Haydon Bridge. Stocked weekly with rainbow
trout. Anglers who don’t hire a boat will need waders for the most
There is a new lodge with car park and toilet facilities and rods and tackle can be hired. In addition, the fishery lodge sells a limited amount of tackle.
Opening Hours: Daily.
Bookings: 01434 688846.
Location: Just south of Haydon Bridge on the A686.
Admission: Permits available.
Access: For wheelchairs.
The Garden Station
A delightful and most unusual woodland garden imaginatively planted
along a former railway track, framed by two magnificent Victorian arched
In the station itself are exhibitions of art and crafts and a charming cafe serving home-made, organic and local food.
The Garden Station also offers a wide range of day courses.
Website: Garden Station
Opening Hours: Please check the website for the latest information before travelling.
Location: Langley on Tyne, HEXHAM, NE47 5LA on the B6295, 3 miles north of Allendale.
Telephone: 01434 684391.
Housesteads Roman Fort
Housesteads Roman Fort, with its commanding position perched high on
the exposed Whin Sill Ridge, offers breathtaking views of the open moorland
of the Northumberland National Park.
This is probably the most complete example of a Roman fort surviving today. A museum displays artefacts from the site.
Opening Hours: 1st Oct - End of Mar daily- 10.00 - 16.00, 1st Apr - 30th Sep daily - 10.00 - 18.00. Closed 24th - 26th Dec & 1st Jan.
Location: North east of Bardon Mill on B6318.
Telephone: 01434 344363.
Access: Difficult. Parking at site can be arranged at Visitor Centre in car park. Toilets at Visitor Centre (N.B. under reconstruction 2013).
Website: Housesteads Fort
A Victorian walled garden nursery with a difference for all levels of plant lovers.
It offers a diverse selection of hardy perennial plants, the majority of which have been propagated by the nursery. Specialist plants include hardy geraniums, eryngiums, erodiums and penstemons. Free admission.
Also, Chipchase Castle is adjacent
Chesters Roman Fort
Chesters has the best preserved Roman Cavalry Fort in Britain. The fort
is particularly picturesque with substantial remains of the impressive
Bath House standing on a tree lined terrace above the river.
Opening Hours: 21st Mar - 30th Sept daily 10.00 - 18.00, Oct - Mar daily 10.00 - 16.00, Closed 24th - 26th Dec & 1st Jan.
Location: 1/2 mile west of Chollerford on B6318.
Telephone: 01434 681379.
Access: Accessible for accompanied wheelchairs.
Website: Chesters Roman Fort
Fort and civilian settlement with full-size reconstruction of a turret
on Hadrian’s Wall. Superb museum set in charming gardens.
Open-air museum featuring reconstructed temple, shop and house. Archaeological excavations every summer.
Opening Hours: Mid Feb - Mid Nov daily 10.00 - 17.00, Apr - Sep 10.00 - 18.00 (Check seasonal variations in closing times).
Location: Between A69 and B6318, 1 1/2 miles north of Bardon Mill.
Telephone: 01434 344277.
Admission: Charge (Discount if also visiting Roman Army Museum at Carvoran).
Access: Museum and gardens accessible. Access to excavation site difficult. Toilets at main car park.
Website: Vindolanda - Planning a visit
Allen Banks & Staward Gorge
Miles of beautiful woodland paths along
the River Allen. Spectacular views from Staward Pele. Nature trail leaflets on site.
Opening Hours: Daylight all year.
Location: Off A69, 3 miles west of
Access: Limited. Parking charge.